Simple Sun Flower Butter Cups

I’ve written the first sentence of this blog post six times. I’ve erased it five. And since I’m well into my third sentence I am keeping it. Some days my brain is swirling with thoughts and coy, witty remarks about the nuances of my day. Some days it just isn’t, and today is one of those days.

I’m sitting here with a sleeping baby on my lap and the television paused because I really want to post the beautiful picture of these sun butter cups! I love when I take a good picture, and I’ve already sent a few to my husband to boast in all of my smug glory. I’m getting pretty good, but he is still better at editing photos.

Some days I sit on the couch, and I hold my daughter. And that’s my job. And other days like today I do everything. No but seriously–I packed my husband’s lunch before he left for work, I got part of dinner ready in the crock pot, I went to the grocery store with a four month old, I got gas, I hung out with my in-laws, I managed to eat lunch, fed my daughter whenever she needed it, I baked, I carried my daughter and entertained her during her waking hours, I practiced my amateur photography skill, and I even remembered to drink water! Oh–and I vacuumed about 1 billion sunflower seeds off of our kitchen floor after dropping them everywhere. Sigh–and I still have a baby to care for until my hubby returns from work and dinner to whip up! (Tonight we’re having hasselback potatoes, chicken, and Brussel sprouts!) Sometimes the need to do more drives me, because I feel like I’m not doing ENOUGH–like I’m not enough. But right now I’m recognizing just how much I have done today. And man am I tired! And how I need a breather.

So I’m just gonna sit here….and enjoy my bad ass-ness, reminding myself I’m stronger than I think I am. Maybe close my eyes…and enjoy a few deep breaths.

I handled my shit today, and so much more. And when I get up to be on the move for round two…there will be some bangin’ sun butter cups waiting for me.

Sun Butter Cups

Ingredients:

  • 1 jar sunflower butter
  • 1 bag milk chocolate chips
  • 1 mini cup cake baking pan (you can use large if you plan on making yours the size of traditional reese’s cups)
  • 1 mini cup cake liners
  • Salt

Steps:

  1. Fill your cup cake tray with liners
  2. In a double broiler (or if you are like me–just a glass bowl that sits over a sauce pan filled with water on the stove on low heat) slowly melt about 1/2 c of chocolate
  3. Take a small spoon or table spoon and plop about 1 tbsp of the melted chocolate into the bottom of each cupcake liner. Stick the cupcake tray into the fridge for about 15-20 minutes so that the chocolate sets up–or hardens
  4. In the meantime, open up your sun butter. If it’s a new jar it may have some oil on the top. Spoon about 1/4 cup out into a bowl and swirl it around with a spatula. You wanna use a spatula in case you need to scrape the sides of the bowl later.
  5. Take the cup cake pan out of the fridge. Using a spoon, scoop a small ball of sun butter, and plop it into the middle of each liner on top of the chocolate. The ball should not be smoothed down or touch the outsides of the liner. (When we put chocolate on top we want the chocolate to cascade all around the sun butter so that there is sun butter on the inside and chocolate on the outside. This also gives a good ratio because sun butter is really thick, dense, and creamy. We need lots of chocolate to balance it out)
  6. Spoon the rest of the melted chocolate on top of the sun butter. Spoon enough on top so that you cannot see any of the sun butter.
  7. Sprinkle each of the sun butter cups with salt and return to the fridge to set.
  8. Once they have set (15-20 minutes depending how much chocolate is on the top) you can take and leave them out of the fridge permanently if you plan on eating them in the next few days.
  9. Take a pic, tag me, and enjoy 🙂

fullsizerender

Leave a Reply

