Shrimp Scampi Linguine For Two

Hello….it’s me Shrimp Scampi. I was wondering if after all this time you’d like to meet, Linguine

This is a recipe for shrimp linguine in a lemon, butter, wine, and garlic sauce. It’s also a story about love, so if you want the recipe skip to the bottom. If you want to read a love story…come with me.

For as long as I can remember I always felt like I was frantically searching for something. I went through life like a hurricane blasting through experience after experience.  I spent the first quarter of a century searching for something I couldn’t quiet get my hands on.

And I was happy and merry. But loneliness was my best friend. And I say friend, because it was always there. It never left my side, and I carried it with me so I’d keep searching and never give up hope.

In a crowded room I felt alone.

In times of quiet and peace I felt my heart go to some other place.

I longed for something….for someone.

And life moved on. I laughed, and I smiled. I danced and I experienced. I did the things that people are suppose to do. And I aimed for total perfection as we humans do. And I experienced happiness. I could have continued to exist in that way. But then one day he came into my life.

He came in quietly. And he came in dressed as someone I didn’t think I needed.

And then he spoke. And I listened. I listened with every part of my ears, my eyes, and my heart, and deep into my core. His voice sounded like home.

And then I unraveled. I willingly came undone telling him every detail, every thought, every idea, and every way in which I cared for and loved him. It wasn’t a choice. It was trust. It was love.

Our love is the easiest choice to make and the hardest to live. Because there is  no hiding. There is no pretending and there is no perfect. But it is also the most rewarding.Our imperfect is perfect for each other. And our love is worth the work.

Since him, I am not without fear. But I am brave enough to face it. Since him I have grown.

Because even in our most honest and darkest moments, when we dive down into the depths–and it is lit up by our love.

We have a beautiful daughter and choose to spend our lives together. It is hard to be human. To face it’s obstacles–but we always find our way back to each other.

And last night– while our daughter slept, we remembered and honored that love between each other, over shrimp linguine.

“Your soul and my soul are very old friends”

img_0650

Ingredients

  • 1/4 pound linguine noodles
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 shallot
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • pinch of red pepper flakes
  • about 1/2 pound shrimp, or 10 shrimp peeled and deveined
  • salt and ground black pepper
  • 1/2 c wine
  • 1/4 c of freshly squeeze lemon juice
  • 1/8 c freshly chopped parsley

Directions

  1. Place a large pot of water on the stove to boil. When the water comes to a boil add linguine. Stir to make sure the pasta separates and cook for about 6 minutes, or until the is very al dente. Drain the pasta
  2. Meanwhile, in a large skillet melt 1 tablespoon of butter in 1 tablespoon of olive oil over medium heat. Saute the garlic, shallots, and red pepper flakes until the shallots become translucent (above 3-4 minutes).
  3. Sprinkle the salt and pepper on the shrimp and add them to the pan. Cook the shrimp on each side for about 1-2 minutes, or until they have turned pink. Remove the shrimp from the pan and set aside.
  4. Add wine and lemon juice and bring to  boil. Add 1 more tablespoon of butter and 1 more tablespoon of olive oil. When the butter has melted, return the shrimp to the pan with the pasta and parsley. Stir well to fully incorporate.
  5. Slice lemons for garnish and place on top of the pasta.
  6. Serve immediately and enjoy!
Leave a Reply

