Sour Cream and Onion Popcorn

Today I tried a recipe for sour cream and onion popcorn. I cook to make things cheaper for our family. My husband always jokes with me–it’s his job to make our money and it’s my job to save it. It’s true–store bought chips can be so expensive and I feel like as soon as I bring them home they are gone! That could have to do with science and the sometimes intentional level of salt or seasoning on store bought chips that keep us  (I’m guilty too) digging our hands back into the snack bags over and over until  we’ve reached the bottom.

I tried to cut snacks out all together to save money and become healthier, but the truth is I need some snacks to keep me going, and so does my hubby! And honestly, they’re just fun to eat! They tickle the taste buds. We also keep fresh produce in our house that needs major preparation in order to make a satisfying meal. So it’s important for us to have something that we can quickly and easily snack on while we are preparing dinner to ward off the hunger pangs, or to keep us going when we have our hands full with our three month old daughter!

By making our own we can control our salt intake–adding lots of spices with huge flavor really helps with that. It also adds nutritional value. We get our vitamins and minerals even in the smallest of ingredients like spices!

So here I am just sitting here, enjoying a few minutes of time to myself with a big bowl of popcorn, which I cannot wait to share with my husband when he gets home, while my little one snoozes beside me.

Enjoy this yummy, cheaper, healthy recipe that is ready in just under 10 MINUTES!

SOUR CREAM AND ONION POPCORN

yields: 2 gallon bags of popcorn

ingredients:

-1/2 c non gmo popcorn

-2 tbsp coconut oil

-2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

-1/2 cup of melted butter

-3 tbsp of chopped, dried dill

-3 tbsp Parmesan cheese powder

-3 tbsp powdered buttermilk

-1 1/2 tbsp onion powder

-1 tsp garlic powder

-1 tsp sea salt

-1/2 tsp freshly ground pepper

  1. Place a large saucepan over medium-high heat. Add coconut oil and let it melt. Then add the popcorn kernels and whirl them around until they are coated in the oil. Place the lid on top of the saucepan and pop the popcorn until you hear the popping start to slow down. Remove from the stove and put the popcorn in a large bowl.
  2. While the popcorn is popping combine the spices with the buttermilk powder, Parmesan cheese, and whisk together.
  3. In another pan, melt the butter on low heat.
  4. When the the popcorn is ready, drizzle the melted butter over the popcorn. Then sprinkle the seasoning over top popcorn and use a wooden spoon to mix. Using the spoon, scoop from the bottom of the bowl to the top to gather any seasoning that has fallen to the bottom. Do this for 2-3 minutes.
  5. Drizzle the 2 tbsp of olive oil over the popcorn as needed to fully combine the seasoning with the popcorn.
  6. Serve immediately or store in an air tight bag
Leave a Reply

